Print Page | Close Window

Muslims Celebrating Christmas?!?

Printed From: IslamiCity.org
Category: Culture & Community
Forum Name: Groups : Women (Sisters)
Forum Description: Groups : Women (Sisters)
URL: https://www.islamicity.org/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=7742
Printed Date: 20 April 2024 at 12:02pm
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 12.03 - http://www.webwizforums.com

Topic: Muslims Celebrating Christmas?!?
Posted By: Muslimah07
Subject: Muslims Celebrating Christmas?!?
Date Posted: 03 December 2006 at 9:40am

Salaam,

I was born & raised Muslim in America. My Mom told me that she knew Muslims who celebrate Christmas, but I never met anyone who did.

Well, I'm a Teacher at a Public Elementary School. There is an Arab/Muslim Women (covered with hijab) who has a son at the school. (She comes to the school often). On Friday, the boy's Teacher told me that the Muslim Sister said she was "going Christmas shopping" for her children. The Teacher then asked if I was going to celebrate Christmas also.  ( I said No, but I didnt say anything negative about the Muslim Sister's choice to celebrate Christmas).

In America, we all understand that Christians celebrate Christmas to celebrate 'The Birth of Jesus Christ, The Birth of Lord & Savior'. Of course, Muslims believe in Jesus, but dont believe he is "the son of God"

DO SOME MUSLIMS CELEBRATE CHRISTMAS?? I am very curious about this.

-------------
Peace

Replies:
Posted By: J.R.
Date Posted: 03 December 2006 at 11:58am
Assalamu Alaikum,

To me Christmas in America is mainly cultural than a true religious
celebration. The gift-giving and family gatherings can appeal to many
people in this country, no matter what faith or no faith at all. Perhaps
this sister wants her children to be included in that gift-giving
atmosphere but not necessarily for the purpose of recognizing Christ's
birth as Christians celebrate.
I was raised Christian and I have nothing but the fondest memories of