Print Page | Close Window

uncomfortable at the Mosque

Printed From: IslamiCity.org
Category: Culture & Community
Forum Name: Groups : Women (Sisters)
Forum Description: Groups : Women (Sisters)
URL: https://www.islamicity.org/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=7543
Printed Date: 29 March 2024 at 2:08am
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 12.03 - http://www.webwizforums.com

Topic: uncomfortable at the Mosque
Posted By: lmecca67
Subject: uncomfortable at the Mosque
Date Posted: 09 November 2006 at 1:15pm
 I have been practicing Islam for about 4 years. My problem is this: When I go to the mosque, I end up going home and crying.  The sisters are not friendly to me and the brothers are not friendly to my husband. Our children are always looked at as if they are out of control.  I try to carry on  conversations but they all gather in their own cliques and I am left in a corner sitting alone. The "straw that broke the camel's back" was during Ramadan, we went to an iftar, no one spoke to me or my  family and we ended up leaving.This is everytime that we go. How many times do you get your feelings hurt before you say enough is enough?

-------------
LaQuoia

Replies:
Posted By: Hanan
Date Posted: 09 November 2006 at 1:27pm

Posted By: UmmAminata
Date Posted: 09 November 2006 at 2:57pm

Welcome to Islam! Welcome to the Ummah!  Join the choir honey!

Okay.. on a serious note..

My family has gone through this and we did get through it.

Here is what we did or do:

1. Refuse whole heartedly to give up our relationship with Allah, and to stop attending services at the Masjids, because this isn't about them, it's about our relationship with Allah. We are not there for them, we are there for Yal-Malik. We tell ourselves this every time we go to the masjids. Even though I have an infant I say to her, and I encourage you to say it to your children so that they won't become disaffected and leave Islam.