Print Page | Close Window

salaat

Printed From: IslamiCity.org
Category: Culture & Community
Forum Name: Groups : Women (Sisters)
Forum Description: Groups : Women (Sisters)
URL: https://www.islamicity.org/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=2229
Printed Date: 29 March 2024 at 12:07am
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 12.03 - http://www.webwizforums.com

Topic: salaat
Posted By: revert786
Subject: salaat
Date Posted: 09 September 2005 at 11:17am

salaams everyone...

i recently started learning how to pray....i just wanted to know from all the sisters in here i know to you guys it may seem a silly question but I dont have any family members that i could ask...

is there any differences in the way a man and a woman pray as all the web sites on the net describe it from a mans point of view...

also if we do not know many suras is it permissible to read the surah from the quran or do we have to memorise them?

kudahafiz

Replies:
Posted By: ummziba
Date Posted: 09 September 2005 at 1:45pm

Assalamu alaikum sister revert...,

Welcome!  To the best of my knowledge, there is no difference in the way men and women pray.  And it is perfectly alright to read a surah from the Qur'an until you have managed to learn some by heart.  It takes awhile, but learn one short surah at a time and you will soon know enough for prayers!

Sister, never be shy to ask any question!  That is how we all learn from one another.

Peace, ummziba.

-------------
Sticks and stones may break my bones, but your words...they break my soul ~

Posted By: Knowledge01
Date Posted: 10 September 2005 at 9:26am

Originally posted by revert786 revert786 wrote:

also if we do not know many suras is it permissible to read the surah from the quran or do we have to memorise them?

As Salam Alaikum sister,

I would recommend starting with memorizing the last 10 surahs of the Holy Qur'an, one at a time.  That way, after a short while, you will not have to look at the Qur'an every time you perform salat.

Posted By: Suleyman