Print Page | Close Window

Leaving Islam Punishable by Death?...

Printed From: IslamiCity.org
Category: Religion - Islam
Forum Name: Islam for non-Muslims
Forum Description: Non-Muslims can ask questions about Islam, discussion for the purpose of learning.
URL: https://www.islamicity.org/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=13161
Printed Date: 25 April 2024 at 5:51am
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 12.03 - http://www.webwizforums.com

Topic: Leaving Islam Punishable by Death?...
Posted By: SilverArrow
Subject: Leaving Islam Punishable by Death?...
Date Posted: 12 September 2008 at 10:34pm
Dear All,

I am in process to study Islam very seriously.
Right now I am studying the 40 Hadiths.
I come to read about the Hadith no 14.

Basically this Hadith says:
- If a person is Muslim and then leaves Islam out of his own conscience for other spiritual path is considered treason and harmful to Uma and society. Based on this kind of thinking that person is punishable by death.

In my view, this is very harming to Islam and is not respecting a basic tenet of Islam which says that the religion is NOT COMPULSORY.
As long that the person which leaves Islam remains a perfectly good person, helpful and caring to others why this person should be condemned and killed for his own conviction to leave Islam for another spiritual path?

Could you elaborate on this subject?

Thanks,
Alex

Unhappy

Replies:
Posted By: minuteman
Date Posted: 13 September 2008 at 12:10am
 There are many variety of 40 Hadith. It is a general belief of all Muslims that apostacy is punishable by death. That is not according to Quran. It may be according to Hadith only.

Any Capital punishment cannot be based on the Hadith only.

-------------
If any one is bad some one must suffer

Posted By: H3OO
Date Posted: 13 September 2008 at 11:53pm
apostacy is punishable by death in islam only if the apostate wages a war, fights against the muslims, becomes hostile towards islam.