URL: https://www.islamicity.org/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=1244
Printed Date: 18 April 2024 at 12:28am
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 12.03 - http://www.webwizforums.com

Topic: The Democracy Problem
Posted By: Ali Zaki
Subject: The Democracy Problem
Date Posted: 17 June 2005 at 11:30am

WHAT IS �THE DEMOCRACY PROBLEM?�

Since I reverted to Islam, I have always been interested in the views of Muslims living in other countries regarding my native land. Among the most surprising things I have heard are those Muslims who believe (much like George Bush) that �Democracy� is the solution for the Muslim world. While a limited (and Islamically based) democratic government is certainly preferable to a dictatorship, an American style (or Western) democratic system is not supported by Islam.

As a Muslim who lives in a democratic country, I have some knowledge as well as personal experience with democracy. In fact, so do I�ll the members of this forum (as it is very democratic, I must say). Much has been written about the merits of a democratic system, however, there are major problems with it as well.

Problem # 1- Reasonable People Will Disagree, and They Often Do.

The purpose of a government is primarily two 1.) To protect the citizens against both foreign and domestics enemies and 2.) To establish justice. These are both lofty goals, and almost noone would disagree on their necessity. The problem (in a democratic society)  is when these concepts are applied to a specific cases.

EXAMPLE

-         Which specific foreign governments do we believe are our true allies (not just opportunist) and deserve support and which are our enemies?

-         How should drug addicts be punished? Are they a threat to the safety of others (and should be imprisoned) , or are they (primarily) on a threat to themselves (and should be treated)?

Problem # 2- Public Opinion is Unreliable and Fickle.