IslamiCity.org Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Culture & Community > Groups : Women (Sisters)
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Being a female doctor in the west  What is Islam What is Islam  Donate Donate
  FAQ FAQ  Quran Search Quran Search  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Being a female doctor in the west

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Starter.
Starter.
Female Islam
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ritika97 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Being a female doctor in the west
    Posted: 28 July 2020 at 12:33pm
As salam aleikum. I am a female medical student currently in the last year of my studies and will soon in sha allah become a doctor. I live in europe. I would specifically like to become a gynecologist and obstetrician which is a doctor for only women, both due to my interest in the field and avoiding contact with male patients. Unfortunately, in the very beginning, since i have no work experience, to be able to become a gynecologist i will need to work and train as a general nurse practitioner and take care of MALE and female patients (i.e, feed them, clean them etc) who have been living in a nursing home. Due to being a doctor in the west we are not given such an option to choose the things we can and can not do. One is obliged to take care of all patients despite their gender. Is it permissible for me to do this work? Please give me advice in this situation. Being a medical professional is my only skill set and this is my last year of studies.
abuayisha View Drop Down
Senior  Member
Muslim
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote abuayisha Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 July 2020 at 5:57am

Salaams, I think from the following you can extract general principles and hopefully you'll quickly pass through this phase and move on to treat females, which our community is in dire need of female Muslim ob/gyn professionals.