IslamiCity.org Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Religion - Islam > Islam for non-Muslims
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Process of conversion  What is Islam What is Islam  Donate Donate
  FAQ FAQ  Quran Search Quran Search  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Process of conversion

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Starter.
Starter.

Male
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 2befree Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Process of conversion
    Posted: 21 November 2018 at 9:57pm
I've been wrestling with this for a few years now and would like to hear some constructive thoughts about it. 
 I have been interested in Islam since I first saw a fellow youth gymnast from Saudia Arabia in 1988do his morning prayer at an international camp in the USA. Something about it stuck me as authentic and grounding. I remember other gymnasts joking about what he was doing later on but it wasn't funny. Many years later I took a sociology of religion course in college and that got my spiritual motor running again, but I was raised Catholic and I really rebelled from God and all the guilt layering, shaming, and the priests who lacked inspiration and luster that would later see in some practicing Muslims and in the life of the Prophet Mohammed PBOH. I left all the god stuff and studied Buddhism for years . I partook in intensive meditation retreats (who I believe the Prophet Muhammed PBOH did ) and it brought me come to a new understanding of God/ Allah and what that means.