IslamiCity.org Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Culture & Community > Groups : Women (Sisters)
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Struggling to keep wearing the hijab  What is Islam What is Islam  Donate Donate
  FAQ FAQ  Quran Search Quran Search  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Struggling to keep wearing the hijab

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Starter.
Starter.

Female
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote muslimah2001i Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Struggling to keep wearing the hijab
    Posted: 26 October 2017 at 9:50pm
Assalamu Alaikum,

I am a 16 year old sister living in Australia and I have been wearing the hijab for the past 3 years. It's been quite a while, but wearing it has been making me feel depressed. Lately I just want to take it off, I've never taken it off secretly because of my fear in Allah swt and I don't want to go behind my parents' backs. Everytime I go out, I feel so upset and I start crying because I don't want to wear it and I feel like the only reason I'm wearing it is because of my parents. I used to wear it when I was younger for fun sometimes when I felt like it, but as soon as I attained puberty the first thing my mum told me was to wear the hijab and be modest, etc. I come from a very strict family religion-wise, and so I wouldn't say I am 'forced' to wear it but that's what it feels like. Because I can't imagine telling my parents how I feel, especially my dad. I would probably get disowned or something, they're not really open-minded. And I can't imagine telling my mum either, because I don't know what they would do from shame. They would be so disappointed in me, because they love me now. Alhamdulillah, regardless of that I see myself as a good muslim. As in I believe in Allah swt 100% and I love Him with all my heart, as well as the Prophet saw and all the other prophets, sahabas, etc. I pray all my prayers, fast, etc. Pretty much anything a normal practicing musl