IslamiCity.org Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Religion - Islam > Islam for non-Muslims
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - HELP!  What is Islam What is Islam  Donate Donate
  FAQ FAQ  Quran Search Quran Search  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

HELP!

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
Author
Senior  Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Chrysalis Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 May 2009 at 10:11am
Originally posted by cab0 cab0 wrote:

Hello, my name is Jonathan, I am currently studying Islam, and I wish for some advice. Osama Bin Laden, 9/11, suicide bombings. Though it is quite obvious that American media over-exaggerates the war on Irag. I need some support. Most of my friends are kind of, patriotic. Matter of fact, my parents are patriotic too (The even most difficult part is they're also Jewish), they blab on constantly on how "evil" Islam is, how "evil" Arabians are, how "Muslims are complete tools because they blow themselves up in hope of women, which states how greedy, wrong, and corrupted the religion is!". My mom, my Father, and sometimes even my friends discuss such negative views on Muslims. My point is. I love my mother and father and friends dearly, but I do not wish to lose them. I WAS Jewish, but with the whole Israel/ Iran thing going on, am I betraying my roots by reverting to Islam? My great great grand Parents came to America from Israel a long time, BTW! But to sum it up, is my belief worth losing my friends over? The love of my Family? And possibly anything else I cherish closely? Plz reply soon.  This is something that has been floating in my mind for months.

Hello Jonathan,

Like everyone else correctly mentioned, it shouldn't have to be a choice of one between the two (family vs Islam). You can have both...