IslamiCity.org Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Regional > Africa
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Black Muslim Women in South Africa  What is Islam What is Islam  Donate Donate
  FAQ FAQ  Quran Search Quran Search  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Black Muslim Women in South Africa

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Starter
Starter

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Amatullah247 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Black Muslim Women in South Africa
    Posted: 28 January 2008 at 7:02pm

As-Salaamu alaikum,

Are there any black Muslim hijabi women on this listserv living and working in South Africa? I am a black Muslim hijabi sister who is considering moving from the US to South Africa. I am also an IT professional and a divorced mother with a young daughter.

Would I have to be worried about any of these things in South Africa: anti-black racism, hostility against women in hijab, disdain for being divorced, me and my daughter getting raped or robbed?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Jazakum-Allah khair.

MORIYAAZ View Drop Down
Starter
Starter
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MORIYAAZ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 March 2008 at 6:28am

Assalamu Alaikum, Respected Sister

South Africa is one of the most beautiful places ever created by Allah (SWT). Yes, we do have crime as is the case with most countries and the times we live in but if we put our trust in Allah (SWT) and his Rasool Muhammad Mustapha (SAW) no harm will ever come to you no matter where you find yourself. We should also be very careful of how the media portrais our country abroad.