IslamiCity.org Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Religion - Islam > Interfaith Dialogue
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Paying interest - please help!  What is Islam What is Islam  Donate Donate
  FAQ FAQ  Quran Search Quran Search  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Paying interest - please help!

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Starter
Starter

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote katherinev Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Paying interest - please help!
    Posted: 02 July 2007 at 12:59am

Assalamu alaykum brothers and sisters

Being new to Islam, I am still learning.

One of the things that I have learnt is that Allah swa declares war on those who deal with interest.

This has made me re-think of purchasing my own home by taking out a mortgage, however a Muslim family have told me that the mortgage is necessary if I want to own my own home and that it is not haram to do so if you acquire the mortgage to purchase your principal home that you wish to live in (Using the mortgage for investment is haram).

Can someone please advise me if this is true?

If this is not the case, can you please provide me with evidence from the Quran.

Also, is Islamic finance an alternative option?

I would appreciate as many responses as possible so please give me your input, thanking you kindly,

Katherine

minuteman View Drop Down
Senior  Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote minuteman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 July 2007 at 2:52am

It mostly depends where you are living and the law of the land. You have to obey the law of the land under all circumstances. If You are  living at a place where the law of Sharia is enforced then you follow the Sharia law and do not indulge in interest.