IslamiCity.org Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Religion - Islam > Islam for non-Muslims
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Becoming a Muslim  What is Islam What is Islam  Donate Donate
  FAQ FAQ  Quran Search Quran Search  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Becoming a Muslim

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Starter
Starter
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote StarGazer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Becoming a Muslim
    Posted: 27 March 2007 at 11:32pm
Okay, well I am a first year college student in an upstate New York school, and I have been doing some thinking late. I've read several books (The Autobiography of Malcoln X in particular) that have been making me reposition my stance on religion, and Islam specifically.

I'm of a mixed heritage, southern Native American and English, however I and my older sister were adopted into a white Baptist family and raised in the suburbs of a small city, by my father, a bartender, and my mother, who stayed at home. Religion was very much just something for our Sundays and for the Holdays, and I never really developed a faith. By the time I had entered middle school, I was identifing myself as an atheist and disbelieved anything I perceived as supernatural.

I've been lucky to have never had any trouble with the police. I got in many fights, and hurt many people who probably didn't deserve it. I've experimented with more drugs then I knew existed six years ago. Women, I've known a few, and none of them do I regert, because we did, and some still, love each other. I am telling you all of this so you can understand where I am coming from.