IslamiCity.org Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > General > Introduction: Who am I?
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Asalam Alaikum from NZ  What is Islam What is Islam  Donate Donate
  FAQ FAQ  Quran Search Quran Search  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Asalam Alaikum from NZ

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Starter
Starter
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Halima Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Asalam Alaikum from NZ
    Posted: 29 July 2005 at 3:59am

I am a newbie to this forum, also a recent revert - May of this year  

I live in New Zealand, and just after giving Shahada in Pakistan, I married a wonderful Pakistani Muslim man.

Unfortunately with the troubles of the world today and with Muslims not getting "good publicity" I am having a lot of difficulty in getting a visa for my new husband.  Not only that but I have come under personal attack for being a Muslim.  I cover my head and so I am obviously now a "moving target" within my own neighbourhood.  I had dog faeces thrown at my back door......not pleasant I can assure you.  I feel somewhat violated.......and I have not done a thing wrong to offend any one....well that I can recall.

Anyway I have been in contact with my local Mosque, and I am not the only sister to come under attack.....they are giving me support which I appreciate.  I have two teenage daughters who are non-muslim, and I fear for them more, because I can't help but wonder what will I wake up to tomorrow.

Sorry about the dull introduction....but it only happened this morning and I think I am still numbed by it all.

I know I will learn a lot from this forum all the same, because despite this little hiccup, I still wish to be a Muslim and a good one at that.

Thank you all

Halima

ummziba View Drop Down
Senior  Member
Female
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ummziba Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 July 2005 at 4:08am