IslamiCity.org Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > General > Introduction: Who am I?
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Sofia from Greece  What is Islam What is Islam  Donate Donate
  FAQ FAQ  Quran Search Quran Search  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Sofia from Greece

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote sofia.greek Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Sofia from Greece
    Posted: 06 October 2007 at 5:50am

Hi everybody,

my name is Sofia and I am a greek freelance journalist. I write mostly about science issues and also about nautical tradition.

I am 52 years old and live in Athens

I thought of contacting people from all over the world to let them know about a monument in my country which has been left without care.

Today the inital part of the Ancient Diolkos (a paved road of 600 BC which was used to transport ships over land), has been swept by the erosion because it is near the Corinth Canal and, as I said, no measures were taken to protect it.

I have started an international petition directed to the Greek Prime Minister because, as I found out, although the authorities were supposedly willing to restore the monument, they kept themselves TOTALLY unprepared; so, the monument was left to decay while the authorities said that they cared...

Till now, people from 77 countries have signed this petition - and I am very glad because there are also signatures from the islamic world.

If you go to http://www.thepetitionsite.com/petition/870477005

you can see the petition (and all the countries from which there are signatures so far). You can find additional information at http://greece.org:8080/opencms/opencms/HEC_Projects/DIOLKOS/

and I also am at your disposal for any questions you may have.

I am looking forward to hearing from you. Kalimera se olous (good day to everybody).

Sofia

Edited by sofia.greek
sulooni View Drop Down