Forum Description: Groups : New Muslims
URL: https://www.islamicity.org/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=24051
Printed Date: 18 April 2024 at 4:50am
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 12.03 - http://www.webwizforums.com

Topic: please help
Posted By: newmuslimah2012
Subject: please help
Date Posted: 08 October 2012 at 5:49pm
ASSALAMU 'ALAIKUM- I am new to Islam, i recently converted after studying Islam for over two years. I have a boyfriend and we want to get married, but he has not told his parents about me. I am divorced with two children. he said that there is no way that they will ever accept it. it is very painful for both of us. please, if anyone has any advice... he said that he will do whatever it takes, but he would rather lie to them, and never tell them and marry me in secret. i told him that it will be more painful for them to think that he has never married at all and to not see their grandchildren, that it might take them awhile to accept it but in the long run they will be happier to know.

Replies:
Posted By: Abu Loren
Date Posted: 12 October 2012 at 11:04pm
Wa Alaikkum As'alaam

Do not marry a deceptive person. A muslim is to respect and be kind and merciful to his parents.

From what you say about him he sounds like a liar too. Sorry.

Posted By: hakeema
Date Posted: 13 October 2012 at 5:03am
As-Salaam Aliakum,

Why he don't want to tell his parents?

I am with Abu Loren on this. I wouldn't married him.

Hakeema

Posted By: Caringheart
Date Posted: 13 October 2012 at 12:58pm
Can a thing begun in deception ever be blessed by God?
let alone by parents, whose blessing you should also want, and may need.  Don't let selfish impatience rob you of God's blessings.  Do as God would want you to do and accept His will in it.
To quote someone else:
"The right thing is rarely easy, and the easy thing is rarely right."

Date Posted: 13 October 2012 at 1:57pm
Jazzak for your advice. it is wise and received by me in gratitude for your attention.

Posted By: Idil