Print Page | Close Window

Is the Injeel corrupted?

Printed From: IslamiCity.org
Category: Religion - Islam
Forum Name: Interfaith Dialogue
Forum Description: It is for Interfaith dialogue, where Muslims discuss with non-Muslims. We encourge that dialogue takes place in a cordial atmosphere on various topics including religious tolerance.
URL: https://www.islamicity.org/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=12306
Printed Date: 26 April 2024 at 12:18am
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 12.03 - http://www.webwizforums.com

Topic: Is the Injeel corrupted?
Posted By: dzkouns
Subject: Is the Injeel corrupted?
Date Posted: 23 April 2008 at 10:31am
Bismillah ir-Rahman ir-Rahim (I believe this as a Christian, for sure

I am studying Islam in school and have had a hard time figuring out some of the beliefs that Muslims have about the Injeel.

1. Was the Injeel corrupted when Mohammed lived?

2. Who corrupted it and how/why?

3.Has anyone read it? (The Qur'an commands that one read the Injeel, the Tawrat, and the Zabur!)  If so, how did it match with the Qur'an?

Not trying to convert anybody here, but I haven't understood how these answers play out in Muslim thinking.  Thanks.

Replies:
Posted By: honeto
Date Posted: 23 April 2008 at 12:59pm
Hello and welcome,
a Muslim's believe about Injeel or Gospel is very clear, it is our individual level  of knowledge, understanding, and explaining that may describe it differently.
My understanding of Injeel, according to the teachings of Quran, is very clear. Injeel or Gospel was the word of God given to prophet Jesus (Pbuh) to bring people back to the worship of their Creator. It came at a time when previously sent word of God was not practiced and was also altered.
Through Quran we learn that Gospel or Injeel was altered and God's word was changed.
Thus there was a need for pure word of God again, and God chose a prophet and revealed His word, the Quran onto him.

So, to answer your specific questions: