IslamiCity.org Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Religion - Islam > Stories - How I Became Muslim?
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Reversion Rewound  What is Islam What is Islam  Donate Donate
  FAQ FAQ  Quran Search Quran Search  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Reversion Rewound

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Male
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote peacemaker Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Reversion Rewound
    Posted: 20 September 2006 at 6:31am

Reversion Rewound

Tracing My Journey to Islam

By  Corey Habbas

Picture � Microsoft.com

2006: Here and Now

My name is Corey Habbas, born in the United States of Western European descent. My life feels centered and enriched because I now have Islam in my life. Before I found Islam, I felt like I had nothing. Now, I feel like so many things changed for the better.

After I reverted to Islam, I completed my bachelor's of science in information systems, married a wonderful man, and had three children. When I can find the time, I work as a volunteer for my local community. I feel that with the strength of Allah, I can move through any adversity.

The first day, I stand in the mirror for 30 minutes, wondering where I should pin my scarf so that it doesn't fall off, slip, or stick out.

I also know that, even though everything seems perfect now in my own life, at any time Allah can test and challenge me with tragedy. The Islamic message is a constant reminder to hold myself up, have faith, hope, and courage regardless of what happens. It helps me maintain perspective in life and to never forget the messages, large and small, that led me to follow the Islamic path. This writing is a rewind of my reversion � a stream of consciousness reversion story ex post facto.

2003:  The Dream