IslamiCity.org Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Culture & Community > Groups : Women (Sisters)
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Muslims Celebrating Christmas?!?  What is Islam What is Islam  Donate Donate
  FAQ FAQ  Quran Search Quran Search  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Muslims Celebrating Christmas?!?

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Muslimah07 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Muslims Celebrating Christmas?!?
    Posted: 03 December 2006 at 9:40am

Salaam,

I was born & raised Muslim in America. My Mom told me that she knew Muslims who celebrate Christmas, but I never met anyone who did.

Well, I'm a Teacher at a Public Elementary School. There is an Arab/Muslim Women (covered with hijab) who has a son at the school. (She comes to the school often). On Friday, the boy's Teacher told me that the Muslim Sister said she was "going Christmas shopping" for her children. The Teacher then asked if I was going to celebrate Christmas also.  ( I said No, but I didnt say anything negative about the Muslim Sister's choice to celebrate Christmas).

In America, we all understand that Christians celebrate Christmas to celebrate 'The Birth of Jesus Christ, The Birth of Lord & Savior'. Of course, Muslims believe in Jesus, but dont believe he is "the son of God"

DO SOME MUSLIMS CELEBRATE CHRISTMAS?? I am very curious about this.

Edited by Muslimah07
J.R. View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote J.R. Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 December 2006 at 11:58am
Assalamu Alaikum,

To me Christmas in America is mainly cultural than a true religious
celebration. The gift-giving and family gatherings can appeal to many
people in this country, no matter what faith or no faith at all. Perhaps
this sister wants her children to be included in that gift-giving