IslamiCity.org Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Culture & Community > Family Matter
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - I lied about my past to my wife  What is Islam What is Islam  Donate Donate
  FAQ FAQ  Quran Search Quran Search  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

I lied about my past to my wife

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Starter.
Starter.

Male Islam
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Rw99 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: I lied about my past to my wife
    Posted: 06 July 2020 at 5:54pm
Aoa, this is my first time posting. Looking for help.

I have been married 6 years now, but we are having a huge issue in our marriage and she wants to leave or move out. We are searching for an Islamic marriage counselor, but unfortunately none are seeing ppl due to the covid situation.

I must say we've accomplished a lot in our marriage. When she married me, financially I had nothing and was recovering from a physical ailment which had almost killed me. She stayed with me this whole time, right by my side. Now we are very financially stable, and my disability has improved.

Before my sickness, I had a very active past in terms of women, what might be defined as a playboy. When my ailment occurred, and after I got through it, I had a new outlook on life, and changed my ways. I spent 3-4 years in depression coping with the effects of my ailment. I began to look for rishtas to settle down. I also began to lie about my past out of fear of being judged to be that way now. In my mind, when talking about the past, i seem like I'm talking about a different person.

With my wife, I lied about my past from the start of our marriage. I allowed certain advice and thoughts to influence my decision. I received advice that if lying benefits the marriage, it is Islamically acceptable to do so. In the end I do not blame the advice, it was my decision to go about it in this way.