Ramadan to begin Sep 1 in USA and Europe


Category: Articles, Faith, Featured | Topic: europe, ramadan | Views: 45,838

In 2007 the Fiqh Council of North America (FCNA) and the European Council for Fatwa and Research (ECFR) came to a consensus in the method for determining the beginning of Lunar months including the months of Ramadan and Shawwal.

Based on this criteria

1st of Ramadan will be on Monday, September 1, 2008 

1st of Shawwal (Eid Al-Fitr) will be on Wednesday, October 1, 2008

The Astronomical New Moon for Ramadan is on Saturday, August 30, 2008 at 19:58 Universal Time (i.e., 3:58 pm EDT, and 12:58 pm PDT). According to the criteria adopted by the Fiqh Council of North America, and European Council for Fatwa and Research, [the conjunction before sunset and moon setting after sunset in Makkah] first day of Ramadan is on Monday, September 1, 2008.

The Astronomical New Moon for Shawwal is on Monday, September 29, 2008 at 8:12 GMT, 4:12 am EDT, 1:12 am PDT). According to the criteria adopted by the Fiqh Council of North America, and European Council for Fatwa and Research, the first day of Shawwal is on Wednesday, October 1, 2008.

May Allah (swt) keep us on the right path, and accept our fasting and prayers. Ameen. For more detailed information, please visit: www.fiqhcouncil.org or www.moonsighting.com.

Ramadan Kareem to all!

Some mosques and communities may observe different criteria for determining the start of the lunar month. Please confirm with your local moon-sighting authorities to determine when to start Ramadan.



Print custom Ramadan/Prayer Timings for your local city. 

To find out the prayer times in your city:

  • You can locate your city in our database.

  • You may search your city by your city name

  • In the USA you can search by zip code.

  • You can also search by Latitude and Longitude

Prayer times for 2.7 million locations around the world.

Find your Prayer Times



Watch Preview

Watch Live Taraweeh from Makkah

IslamiCity is pleased to offer a Ramadan exclusive webcast of daily Taraweeh prayers from Makkah.

  • Watch and listen to the Taraweeh and learn the essence of the Quran.

  • Spiritually transport yourself to the daily Taraweeh prayers.

  • In addition to this, you can take advantage of several other Membership benefits and the largest collection of online Multimedia content.

Click here to sign up today. It’s only US$89.95 for one year.



During this Ramadan
let IslamiCity help you Memorize the Quran

Now there is an easy online tool to help children and adults memorize the Quran.

This tool helps, both children and adults, learn the proper recitation and memorization of the Holy Quran.  In addition to the Arabic script, verse-by-verse transliteration and translation in English is also provided.

Listen to world renown Sheikh Siddiq Minshawi’s beautiful recitation of the Holy Quran.

There is a small cost of $7.50 per month, billed on a yearly basis, to take advantage of this service plus many other benefits at IslamiCity Membership

Click Here to Join IslamiCity Membership



Shop Now!

Online shopping to support IslamiCity’s Dawa efforts

IslamiCity.com is happy to announce the launch of the New & Improved online bazar.

  • Simple and easy product browsing

  • Unique Islamicly inspired Gifts | Art | Home Decor items

  • Extensive Islamic product line, including Audio | Video | Books | Greeting Cards | Jewelry | etc

  • Safe and secure online transactions serving visitors since 1999.

To learn more about IslamiCity’s Dawa effort CLICK HERE

Click on Ramadan Information Center for all the latest services and information.

Disclaimer



SAME TOPIC(S)/VALUE(S) POSTS YOU MIGHT BE INTERESTED IN: